Welcome, Guest. Please Login.
Gravity Simulator
11/18/17 at 00:34:05
News: Registration for new users has been disabled to discourage spam. If you would like to join the forum please send me an email with your desired screen name to tony at gravitysimulator dot com.
Home Help Search Login

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
How accurate is Gravity Simulator? (Read 9555 times)
FedericoP
Uploader

I Love YaBB 2!

How accurate is Gravity Simulator?
05/30/11 at 06:05:28

I am a student in Astrophysics (Bologna University, Italy)  and i want to know how accurate is Gravity Simulator.

In detail, i want to know what is the numerical method (hermite, runge kutta 4th, sympletic....) used by that program  Smiley  .

It's important because i'm writing my thesis and i must write a N-body code, that resolve, for example, this kind of problem:

http://www.princeton.edu/~rvdb/JAVA/astro/galaxy/DustDisk.html

http://astro.u-strasbg.fr/~koppen/body/SaturnRing.html

Someone know if there is yet a routine to do this in gravity simulator ?

Thanks everybody.

View Profile   IP Logged
Tony
YaBB Administrator

Re: How accurate is Gravity Simulator?
Reply #1 - 05/30/11 at 12:57:46

Hi Federico,
Gravity Simulator 2.0 uses the Euler-Cromer.  The latest beta version introduces a 4th order Runge Kutta method.  You can choose between EC and RK4.  They both have their strengths and weaknesses.  During the next few days, I'm going to be working on an analysis that compares the two methods.  You are also free to write your own methods and introduce them through a dll.

Gravity Simulator can do the types of simulations you've linked to, but its best to keep the number of particles to about 500 or less, or the program becomes very sluggish.

See here for the latest beta version:
http://www.orbitsimulator.com/cgi-bin/yabb/YaBB.pl?num=1176774875/36#36

Email View Profile WWW   IP Logged
guyy
Uploader

Warning: Often
Incomprehensible

Reply #2 - 05/30/11 at 14:08:06