Welcome, Guest. Please Login.
Gravity Simulator
11/23/17 at 17:48:33
News: Registration for new users has been disabled to discourage spam. If you would like to join the forum please send me an email with your desired screen name to tony at gravitysimulator dot com.
Home Help Search Login

Pages: 1
Reply Send Topic Print
Differential Equation(s)? (Read 5310 times)
Dave Mongoose

Differential Equation(s)?
08/17/05 at 09:17:00

Hi,
I'm a student in the UK and, as a mathematics project, I'm trying to create a simple orbit model (the Earth and the Sun, for example) using Euler's method to get numerical solutions. Unfortunately I can't find the differential equation(s) I need, so I haven't been able to get anywhere.

Could you point me to the equation(s) I need? As far as I know I'm looking for one(s) that will give polar coordinates, but I could be wrong.

Email   IP Logged
Tony
YaBB Administrator

Re: Differential Equation(s)?
Reply #1 - 08/17/05 at 10:28:19

Gravity Simulator uses state vectors.  Internally, it recognizes objects by their X,Y & Z positions and velocities rather than polar cordinates.

To do a simple Euler method here's an outline of how to do it in 2 dimensions:

Consider the Sun to be stationary at the 0,0 point (x,y).  The Earth travels around the Sun at about 30 kilometers / second from a distance of about 1,500,000 kilometers.  Convert these to MKS and you get 3000 m/s and 1.5 x 109 meters.

Use this as a starting point.  Place the Earth at one of its 90 degree longitudes.  So:

Sun x position : 0
Sun y position : 0
Sun x velocity : 0
Sun y velocity: 0

Earth x position: 1.5 x 109
Earth y position: 0
Earth x velocity: 0
Earth y velocity: 3000

You now have a stationary model of the Earth and Sun.  To propogate this orbit into the future:

To keep things simple, use a time step of 1 second.  Every 1 second you are going to re-compute the position of the Earth.